sexta-feira, 26 de dezembro de 2008

Camboja - 1000 Riels 2007 - Pick new

The riel is the currency of Cambodia. There have been two distinct riel, the first issued between 1953 and May 1975, and the second since April 1, 1980. In Cambodia, the U.S. dollar is also widely used.Between 1975 and 1980, the country had no monetary system.
Following the first issue of banknotes denominated in both riel and piastres (which closely matched those of Laos and South Vietnam), a truly independent riel was issued by the National Bank of Cambodia in 1955. Cambodia issued several series of notes in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and 500 riel. Banknotes of 1000 and 5000 riel were printed but not issued for circulation. (The 5000 riel note has only recently come to light. The designs included many themes of Cambodian life, history and mythology.

Madagascar - 200 Ariary 2004 - Pick 87

Madagascar - 200 Ariary 2004 - Pick 87

Trinidade e Tobago - 1 Dollar 2006 - Pick new

The dollar (currency code TTD) is the currency of Trinidad and Tobago. It is normally abbreviated with the dollar sign $, or alternatively TT$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. It is subdivided into 100 cents.

The dollar was introduced in 1898. It circulated alongside the British pound, with 1 dollar = 4 shillings 2 pence (or one pound equals four dollars and eighty cents). From 1935, the currency was equivalent to the British West Indies dollar. In 1951, notes of the British Caribbean Territories, Eastern Group, were introduced, replacing Trinidad and Tobago's own notes. In 1955, coins were introduced when the dollar was decimalized. In 1964, Trinidad and Tobago introduced its own dollar, replacing the East Caribbean dollar at par. The Trinidad and Tobago dollar and the Eastern Caribbean dollar were the last two currencies in the world to retain the old rating of one pound equals four dollars and eighty cents, as per the gold sovereign to the Pieces of eight. Both of these currencies ended this relationship within a few weeks of each other in 1976.

In 1898, the Colonial Bank introduced 20-dollar notes. These were followed in 1901 by 5 dollars. 100-dollar notes were also issued. The last notes were issued in 1926, after which the Colonial Bank was taken over by Barclays Bank, which issued 5-, 20- and 100-dollar notes until 1941.

In 1905, notes were introduced by the government in denominations of 1 and 2 dollars, followed by 5 dollars in 1935 and 10 and 20 dollars in 1942.

The Royal Bank of Canada introduced 5-, 20- and 100-dollar notes in 1909. From 1920, the notes also bore the denomination in sterling. 100-dollar notes were not issued after 1920, whilst the 5 and 20 dollars were issued until 1938. The Canadian Bank of Commerce introduced 5-, 20- and 100-dollar notes in 1921, with the 5- and 20-dollar notes issued until 1939.

In 1964, the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago introduced notes for 1, 5, 10 and 20 dollars. 50- and 100-dollar notes were issued in 1977, although the 50-dollar note was not continued. The reverses of the current notes feature the Central Bank Building of Trinidad and Tobago. The obverses have the coat of arms in the center, a national bird and a place in Trinidad, such as a market, petroleum refinery, etc. In 2002, new 1 and 20 dollar notes were introduced. In 2003 new 1, 5, 10 and 100 dollars were also introduced. The notes were only slightly changed; they now have more security features and darker color. Recently, more security features have been added to the notes by the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago.

Banknotes in circulation are

$1 (red)
$5 (green)
$10 (grey)
$20 (purple)
$100 (blue)

Madagascar - 100 Ariary 2004 - Pick 86

Compra uma nota idêntica aqui / Buy a similar note here

The Malagasy ariary is the official currency of Madagascar. The ISO code for the Malagasy ariary is MGA. The ariary is only one of two circulating currencies in the world with division units not based on a power of ten, but instead each ariary consists of five iraimbilanja. On January 1, 2005 the ariary replaced the previous currency, the Malagasy franc. One Malagasy franc was valued at 0.2 ariarys (one iraimbilanja). The banknotes show how many francs they are worth, however it has not been done for the coins.

Azerbeijão- 1000 Manat 2001 - Pick 23

Azerbeijão- 1000 Manat 2001 - Pick 23

Etiópia - 1 Birr 2006 - Pick new

The Birr is the currency of Ethiopia.

The first currency of Ethiopia was introduced in 1894 and was known as the "Menelik talers." In 1934, the occupying Italian forces made the Italian lire the legal currency in Ethiopia until their expulsion in 1942. The Ethiopian Birr was finally introduced in 1945, first called the Ethiopian dollar and was only renamed to Birr in 1979.

Distributed by the National Bank of Ethiopia, the Birr is divided in coins of 1, 5, 10, 25 y 50 santim (cents), and bills of 1, 5, 10, 50 y 100 birr.

1.00 dollar equals 9.28 birr (February 2008)

sexta-feira, 5 de dezembro de 2008

Guinea - 1000 Francs 2006 - Pick new

The Guinean franc is the currency of Guinea.
The first Guinean franc was introduced in 1959 to replace the CFA franc. There were 1, 5, 10 and 25 francs coins (made of aluminium bronze) with banknotes (dated 1958) in 50, 100, 500, 1000, 5000 and 10,000 francs denominations. A second series of banknotes was issued in 1960, without the 10,000 francs. This second series had the same portrait but with a different colour scheme and reverse designs to the first. A new issue of coins in 1962 was made of cupronickel.
In 1971, the franc was replaced by the syli at a rate of 1 syli = 10 francs.
The Guinean franc was reintroduced as Guinea's currency in 1985, at par with the syli. The coins came in denominations of 1, 5 and 10 francs, with 25 francs (1987) and 50 francs (1994) added later. Banknotes were issued in denominations of 25, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 francs.
A second series issued in 1998 dropped the 25 and 50 francs banknotes, since they had been replaced by coins. 2006, third issue were introduced in denomination of 500, 1000 and 5000 francs that are similar to previous issues. On 11 June 2007, a 10,000 franc was issued.