sexta-feira, 26 de dezembro de 2008

Trinidade e Tobago - 1 Dollar 2006 - Pick new

The dollar (currency code TTD) is the currency of Trinidad and Tobago. It is normally abbreviated with the dollar sign $, or alternatively TT$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. It is subdivided into 100 cents.

The dollar was introduced in 1898. It circulated alongside the British pound, with 1 dollar = 4 shillings 2 pence (or one pound equals four dollars and eighty cents). From 1935, the currency was equivalent to the British West Indies dollar. In 1951, notes of the British Caribbean Territories, Eastern Group, were introduced, replacing Trinidad and Tobago's own notes. In 1955, coins were introduced when the dollar was decimalized. In 1964, Trinidad and Tobago introduced its own dollar, replacing the East Caribbean dollar at par. The Trinidad and Tobago dollar and the Eastern Caribbean dollar were the last two currencies in the world to retain the old rating of one pound equals four dollars and eighty cents, as per the gold sovereign to the Pieces of eight. Both of these currencies ended this relationship within a few weeks of each other in 1976.

In 1898, the Colonial Bank introduced 20-dollar notes. These were followed in 1901 by 5 dollars. 100-dollar notes were also issued. The last notes were issued in 1926, after which the Colonial Bank was taken over by Barclays Bank, which issued 5-, 20- and 100-dollar notes until 1941.

In 1905, notes were introduced by the government in denominations of 1 and 2 dollars, followed by 5 dollars in 1935 and 10 and 20 dollars in 1942.

The Royal Bank of Canada introduced 5-, 20- and 100-dollar notes in 1909. From 1920, the notes also bore the denomination in sterling. 100-dollar notes were not issued after 1920, whilst the 5 and 20 dollars were issued until 1938. The Canadian Bank of Commerce introduced 5-, 20- and 100-dollar notes in 1921, with the 5- and 20-dollar notes issued until 1939.

In 1964, the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago introduced notes for 1, 5, 10 and 20 dollars. 50- and 100-dollar notes were issued in 1977, although the 50-dollar note was not continued. The reverses of the current notes feature the Central Bank Building of Trinidad and Tobago. The obverses have the coat of arms in the center, a national bird and a place in Trinidad, such as a market, petroleum refinery, etc. In 2002, new 1 and 20 dollar notes were introduced. In 2003 new 1, 5, 10 and 100 dollars were also introduced. The notes were only slightly changed; they now have more security features and darker color. Recently, more security features have been added to the notes by the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago.

Banknotes in circulation are

$1 (red)
$5 (green)
$10 (grey)
$20 (purple)
$100 (blue)

Sem comentários: